ILD 831 Week 2 Post – Padlet.com (Ray R.)

Padlet2

Padlet1

Padlet is a tool that is touted as “possibly the easiest way to create and collaborate in the world,” according to the padlet.com website.  In plain English, Padlet is a virtual wall that allows people (students, coworkers, instructors, etc.) to collaborate and express their thoughts on topics easily.  I think about it as a canvas or sheet of paper.  Collaborators/participants have control of putting their ideas on virtual paper using different types of media (text, documents, pictures, videos, and more) on the page.  It is a visually appealing way to brainstorm, share videos, share files, or share images.  One big benefit is that it is completely free and accessible on any device.

This tool can be used in many leadership situations in the education, healthcare, business, and non-profit worlds, just as a few examples.  In the video I created below, I created an example of using it in a classroom environment.  My scenario was working on a project about Jesuit values.  I recorded a simple brainstorming session where a few people in “cohort 99” started by posting what their favorite Jesuit value is.  This tool seems to be a great way to start collaboration with students with a wide array of technical abilities.  A novice can easily click on the link then click on the wall and start typing.  A person with more technical ability can use the wall in more of a robust fashion, such as posting video, linking to a blog, and much more.  It could be used in the classroom as a journal, to create engaging discussions, brainstorming, and much more.

There are some downsides, however.  The main thing, which also can be looked at as a benefit, is its simplicity.  Padlet doesn’t have any robust type of workflow, for example.  It would be handy for the beginning part of working on a project, such as brainstorming, but would not be suitable for more advanced parts of putting a project together.  Due to its simplicity I think it would get a lot more use in a K-12 education setting.  It still could get use in a college environment, but perhaps only for simpler tasks.

I see a variety of opportunities for this, particularly with younger and inexperienced users.  In an elementary school environment it would be a great way to introduce children to an online collaborative environment.  The teacher could allow each child to answer a question, such as “what was the highlight of your summer?” while also searching the Internet for some pictures to post.  This would be a great icebreaker or an introduction to a class project.  This tool could also be used in the business environment as well.  A team lead or supervisor could use this to keep each team member or subordinate on task for the week.  The supervisor could post a list of tasks and ask each person to keep the board updated with a quick status of the task.  One of the benefits of this tool is that it looks a lot friendlier and more appealing to the eye as compared to a Microsoft Project document, for example.  That doesn’t mean it can take place of the Microsoft Project document, but can still help facilitate information gathering and sharing.

Here is the 6 minute video I created showing how to quickly set up a Padlet page as well as some common settings that a person would want to consider configuring.

6 thoughts on “ILD 831 Week 2 Post – Padlet.com (Ray R.)

  1. Nice post, Ray. I agree that its sweet spot is brainstorming…and it does it in an engaging way, whether you are together in a room or scattered around the world.

    I have also seen people use it to gather interest areas from participants in a workshop the days before the workshop occurs. You could do that with a survey or Google form,,,but Padlet makes the thinking visible, which can allow others to build off previous comments.

    Like

  2. I have never heard of this fantastic tool. It is hard to believe this functionality was made available for free given the quality of the application and that it can be accessed on any device. This has so many potential uses. I am seeing it for my organization as a project tool so that individuals around the world can quickly add content to the wall and drive further discussion. This tool is perfectly in tune with the way people think and work. Can have password protected Padlets? If there are multiple posts to one wall is it easy to track the individual who added the content?

    Thanks for the screen recording – it is really helpful to see the functionality in the walk through. It does seem the experience is very simple and might not lend itself to more complex projects but there are so many uses for this in its current form. It really is an ideal sharing environment that would be great for the industries you outlined. It is definitely not intimidating for younger users and could be a great way to get them more engaged with learning material. Thanks for the post!

    Matt Bonilla

    Like

    1. Matt,

      Thank you for reviewing this tool! I agree that it is engaging and can be fun. It makes me think of a more visually appealing wiki. At work, one application I can think of would be to ask the team a question that I’d like feedback about. Another would be to ask students to submit a question to a guest lecturer in advance of the talk and then pull up the Padlet at the end of the lecture. Outside of work, I think it would be useful for a family or group that is planning a trip to submit things they would like to do on the trip. There are endless possibilities. I look forward to giving it a try!

      Will

      Like

  3. I have colleagues who have used this tool with success, but I have never done so, and am currently reconsidering! In my own post this week, I discuss the importance of visual learning for students, and it is a subject of focus in our faculty professional development this year. I often try to encourage collaboration in my classes, whether French or World History, because in real life these students need to learn collaboration skills. Padlet seems as though it would be an excellent means of encouraging some of this collaboration, and it would add the richness of visual interest. I could also see it used as a replacement for the idea/word webs as brainstorming tools. Students could use Padlet as a means of brainstorming with others, but could also use it as a personalized tool for something like an essay. In World History, my students are required to write research papers every other month, and I constantly emphasize the importance of pre-writing and brainstorming. Padlet would be an excellent tool for them to visually store their ideas, and to save and revisit when they want.
    In regard to leadership, I could see this being an excellent tool used with employees. A leader could pose a question, such as which professional development topics the teachers might find most useful this school year, and it would give everyone an opportunity to respond, as well as seeing what their colleagues say.
    Excellent review of the tool, and I particularly appreciated the video you included. Well done!
    – Katie

    Like

  4. My experienc with padlet is very recent. I was required to attend a two day workshop on MultiTiered Student Support Systems (MTSS). For me the most interesting part of the presentation was the presenters use of padlet. Of course he used it as more of a presentation board where he organized many resources for us (TedTalks vidoes, documents, Common Core Standards and ideas and quotes). In a second required professional dvelopment we were asked to post comments on padlet. So I received a passing experience with its collaborative properties. I did like the lay out and utility of it. I prefer it over Prezi in its visual display of information.

    Like

  5. Matt,
    This reminds me of the post on Evernote, however, I liked the fact that you included that this could be an ideal tool for using writing prompts on a weekly basis and getting student feedback or responses on the prompt. For me, this would be a great virtual tool to encourage dialogue on some of the topics I have drawn from our Public Relations course, my 7th graders, believe it or not have really enjoyed some of the topics I have presented, this would be a good tool to use, if we have the access on our school issued ipads. I do like your input on the shortcomings, I think each of these tools have shortcomings, I presented SurveyMonkey and even with how popular it is, there are challenges faced by those that use it. The fact that Padlet.com can be used for the brainstorming part of a project is good advice, I was thinking about doing something like this with the unit we have coming up on Lewis & Clark. It is good to know that it is an easy-to-use tool, but, maybe not the best tool to use to finish a project. I will look into Padlet.com this week and see if students can install it or even have it in their app catalogs. Thank you for the advice and very well written posting! I will check out the video this week!

    Chris Brown

    Like

Leave a Reply

